Students at the M.J.C. East Campus

Get Started at MJC

Step 1: Apply Online
Step 2: Access your MJC Email 
Step 3: College Orientation 
Step 4: Assessment Testing 
Step 5: Education Plan
Step 6: Official Transcripts
Step 7: Apply for Financial Aid
Step 8: Register for Classes
Step 9: Pay Fees

Need help?

Contact the friendly Admissions Office staff if you have questions about adding or dropping classes, or filing for pass/no pass.

The Assessment Testing Office administers tests to help you select appropriate courses or satisfy pre-requisites.

International students should start by visiting our Information for International Students.

Modesto Junior College
Decorative Header Image

Distance Education Committee

Mission Statement

MJC uses current best practices to update and deliver challenging, dynamic distance learning opportunities that meet the needs of students in remote locations with diverse home, family and career demands.

Distance Education Committee Members

4 Faculty Appointed by Academic Senate 
   Iris Carroll, Professor-Library
   Steven Miller, Professor-Political Science
   Mary Silva, Professor-Counseling
   Rebecca Ganes- Professor - Psychology

2 Classified Staff Appointed by CSEA
Joshua Sigman, Front End Web Developer
Claudia Mery, Program Technician-Disability Services

1 Curriculum Committee Representative Recommended by Curriculum Committee and Approved by Academic Senate 

1 Director of Technology Services 
   Patrick Pimentel Sr.- Director of Technology Services

2 Distance Education Staff 
   Cheryl Chavez, Library Technician
   Michael Smedshammer, Instructional Design Coordinator,
    Committee Co-Chair 

2 Instructional Administrators 
   Jennifer Zellet - Vice President of Instruction
     Committee Co-Chair
   Patrick Bettencourt - Dean of Instruction and Student Planning

1 Student Representative 
   Kaydee Cruz, ASMJC Senator for Literature/Language Arts

1 Student Services Representative 
   Jenni Abbott - Dean of Institutional Effectiveness

1 YCCD IT Representative 
   Patrick Pimentel Sr.- Director of Technology Services

1 YFA Representative 
   Linda Kropp, Professor-Accounting

Unlimited At - Large 
   Amy Duffy, Professor - Medical Assisting
   Laura Maki, Dean of Science Math and Engineering
   Milan Motroni, Professor - Physical & Health Education
   Kurt Olson, Professor - Sociology